Recipes - Cookies

Lemon Sugar Cookies Recipe for our Lemonade Stand

My kids, now 6 and 4 years old have been bugging me all summer to have a lemonade stand. Now that we are into fall and our outdoor days are numbered I finally gave in. With the help of 9 kids and a killer corner house on a very busy street the sale was a success. We had Lemonade, Homemade Root Beer (Ryne made from a home brew kit. It was delicious), and lemon cookies…. and we were sold out in under 1.5 hours. Just a perfect amount of time to be out with 9 amped up kids on lemonade and sugar cookies. We ended with a pizza lunch and counted the money.  I think I had just as much of a good time as the kids.  It was a great experience for them and it renewed my feelings that people can be very kind and generous, especially when it deals with kids.  I now have a life resolution to always stop for lemonade stands.

I wanted to share the Lemon Cookie Recipe I used. This was my first time and they were delicious. I got this recipe from SweetSugarBelle.com. I only changed the extract to Lemon.  This will be my go-to recipe now. I used the Wilton Roll-Out Recipe before, but it can be a bit sticky.

 

LEMON COOKIES

Ingredients:

  •  1 C. (2 sticks) Unsalted BUTTER, softened
  •  1 1/2 C. Confectioner’s Sugar
  •  1 Egg
  •  3 tsp Lemon Extract
  •  2 3/4 C. all-purpose flour
  •  2 tsp. baking powder
  •  1 tsp. salt

Instructions:

Cream together softened butter and confectioner’s sugar. Crack the egg into a separate bowl, and add the extract. Add to the butter sugar mixture and mix until the egg is thoroughly incorporated. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt, then add little by little to the mixture. Dough is ready when most of it sticks to the paddle. To the touch, it has a little give, but does not stick to my fingers.  This makes about 2.5 dozen cookies. I split the dough in half and put in the fridge for about 10 minutes. The original recipe does not call for it, but when I tried the dough that had been in the fridge a little it was easier to use with the cookie cutter.

For these lemon cookies I used a circle cutter and cut them in half. Preheated the oven to 400 degrees and cooked for 7 minutes.  I like using the Siplat baking mats.  You may need to adjust time according to your oven.  I made royal icing and divided it into two bowls. I used the Wilton Color Right Yellow and left the other one White.  I used Wilton disposable icing bags, number 3 tips, and couplers.

 

THIS WAS A GREAT DAY! 
  Lemonade stand
Leave a Reply

