Holidays · Recipes - Cookies

Christmas Light Bulb Cookies w/ Wilton Cookie Pan

I saw Wilton’s Light Bulb cookie pan and had to get it. I have never used a cookie pan before. These were easy to bake and decorate. I used three pans so I can bake more at one time. Each pan makes a dozen 2″ cookies. Perfect bite size. Yum!

christmas-light-bulb-wilton-facebook

Preheated the oven and spray the pans. There is a sugar cookie recipe on the back of the package or use your own. I like the following recipe.

Ingredients:

  •  1 C. (2 sticks) Unsalted BUTTER, softened
  •  1 1/2 C. Confectioner’s Sugar
  •  1 Egg
  •  3 tsp Lemon Extract (or vanilla extract)
  •  2 3/4 C. all-purpose flour
  •  2 tsp. baking powder
  •  1 tsp. salt

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and cook for 7 minutes. Cream together softened butter and confectioner’s sugar. Crack the egg into a separate bowl, and add the extract. Add to the butter sugar mixture and mix until the egg is thoroughly incorporated. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt, then add little by little to the mixture. Dough is ready when most of it sticks to the paddle. To the touch, it has a little give, but does not stick to my fingers.  This makes about 6 dozen cookies.

It was easy to pre-make the balls and then put in shapes and press down. They should be about 3/4th full.

You may have to adjust the time and temperature for  your preference of cookie. My husband likes it a little crispy and I do not. They get covered in icing so they look will look great.

The first picture above shows how some were filled too much.  I wanted to keep it simple so I made 4 colors: Red, White, Green, Yellow.  Add these colors to your piping bags and get frosting.

Outline the red then flood inside. Use a toothpick to smooth out any needed areas. I immediately added the white shine on the top right of the bulb. This is a wet on wet.  I completed all the red bulbs allowing it to dry. I next added the top yellow and bottom yellow lines to all the bulbs. After I was done with that I added in the middle line and a bottom little one.

They came out so cute. I love the perfect bite size.

christmasbulbcookies

 

PIN ME FOR LATER!

christmas-cookie-bulbs-wilton

Leave a Reply

